

Tribal Alliance of Sovereign Indian Nations

An intergovernmental association of tribal governments throughout Southern California

November 8, 2023

Bryan Newland Assistant Secretary- Indian Affairs 1849 C Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20240

Dear Assistant Secretary Newland,

On behalf of the Tribal Alliance of Sovereign Indian Nations (TASIN), an intergovernmental association of federally recognized tribal governments throughout Southern California, we write to urge you to work with the Coquille Indian Tribe to resubmit their application using the two-part determination process. The Coquille Indian Tribe's application to transfer fee land in Medford, Oregon into trust for gaming using the restored lands exception directly threatens the sovereign rights of tribal governments to operate gaming on their lands.

Since 2015, the Karuk Tribe, Elk Valley Rancheria, and the Tolowa Dee-Ni Nation have each urged your office to reject Coquille's position. TASIN fully supports this request and strongly recommends that Coquille should be required to resubmit their application using the two-part determination process. Unlike the restored lands process the Department is currently using, the two-part determination process will allow the Department to consult with all impacted tribes, including those in California.

Thank you for your consistent support of Indian Country and we look forward to working with you to ensure that all tribes have an opportunity to benefit from gaming.

Sincerely,

TRIBAL GOVERNMENTS:

Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians

Augustine Band of Cahuilla Indians

CABAZON BAND OF CAHUILLA INDIANS

CAHUILLA BAND OF INDIANS

Chemehuevi Indian

Morongo Band of

MISSION INDIANS

Pechanga Band of Indians

San Manuel Band of Mission Indians

Santa Rosa Band of Cahuilla Indians

SANTA YNEZ BAND OF CHUMASH INDIANS

Soboba Band of Luiseño Indians

Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians

TWENTY-NINE PALMS BAND OF MISSION INDIANS

STEVEN ESTRADA

LYNN VALBUENA

Secretary

Chairwoman

CATALINA CHACON
Vice Chairwoman

vice Chairwonnan

ROSEMARY MORILLO

Treasurer

cc: Tribal Chairman Dale Miller, Elk Valley Rancheria

Chairman Russell Attebery, Karuk Tribe

Chairperson Jeri Lynn Thompson, Tolowa Dee-Ni' Nation